Wide Grip Bench Press


With some advice from Lester Estevez, I decided to abandon the bench routine I was doing (see previous bench post). Even though my left shoulder, which had surgery a few years ago, has healed and is much stronger, the workout was too much for it. The new plan is to get in  my shirt next week for three boards to a max.  The following week, shirt to a max on a two board and the next after that a max to a one board. The last week will put me two weeks out from my next meet, so the following week will be shirt to an opener and the last week before the meeting light.

As for today, we decided to do something we haven’t done for a long time, wide grip bench press (raw). I was pretty please with the outcome. As most people know, I am no bencher. My raw bench is onky 385 lbs. Sad, I know, but today I was able to go up with triples to 340 lbs. and press out 370 lbs. for a single.

The workout went as follows:

Wide grip bench press
135 x 5
135 x 5
225 x 3
225 x 3
270 x 3
320 x 3
340 x 3
370 x 1

Incline bench press
135 x 10
185 x 10
225 x 9

Behind the head cable triceps
80 x 15
80 x 15
80 x 15
80 x 15

Front dumbell rotator cuff raises
10 x 15
10 x 15
10 x 15
10 x 15

Cettle bell shrugs
80 x 15
80 x 15
80 x 15

About joeironmannorman

Powerlifter with Teamjax, out of Jacksonville Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/MonsterSquat View all posts by joeironmannorman

Leave a Reply

