Week 11 – Max Bench


Last night’s workout was my last heavy bench day before the meet. Following the previous two weeks, the plan was to try and keep the weights the same but drop a board. Two weeks ago was three board, last week two so this week was one board presses.

I felt a little uncomfortable, seeing that I wanted to get up to at least 700 lbs. but we didn’t have enough spotters. There were enough spotters to spot the weight but no one to hold the board. Also, when going up that heavy, I like to have a three-man hand out. Jordon, our youngest but one of our biggest members, did a great job handing out the weights up to 600 lbs. After that we had to tape the board to my chest for the last two sets.

Being my last heavy week, I also decide to take my warm-ups a little differently. My thoughts were to take light weights for high reps for multiple sets, enough the get stretched out and get the blood flowing in my arms and chest. Then shirt up and take large jumps to limit the heavy sets and save my energy for the heaviest sets.

Bench
135 lbs. x 10
135 lbs. x 10
225 lbs. x 10
225 lbs. x 10
410 lbs. x 1 – Start shirt – 4 board
495 lbs. x 1 – 3 board
610 lbs. x 1 – 2 board
660 lbs. x 1 – 1 board
700 lbs. x 1 – 1 board (near miss)

Incline Bench Press
135 lbs. x 10
185 lbs. x 10
185 lbs. x 10
185 lbs. x 10

Floor Triceps Extensions with Kettlebells
45 lbs. x 10
45 lbs. x 10
45 lbs. x 10
45 lbs. x 10

Triceps Pushdowns with Rope
100 lbs. x 10
100 lbs. x 10
100 lbs. x 10
100 lbs. x 10

Overall the workout went well. I was pleased considering the spotter shortage. 700 lbs. came off the board pretty easily. It was my right arm that failed, so I will tweak the shirt next time to give it some more help.

GO MOVE SOME METAL!
teamjaxfl@gmail.comhttp://www.youtube.com/Teamjaxflhttps://twitter.com/#!/MonsterSquathttp://www.facebook.com/MonsterSquathttp://about.me/joeironmannorman

Comments and questions are always welcome.

About joeironmannorman

Powerlifter with Teamjax, out of Jacksonville Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/MonsterSquat View all posts by joeironmannorman

2 responses to “Week 11 – Max Bench

Leave a Reply

